Volunteering at an event and Joy of Cha

Last weekend I volunteered for Open House Dublin- thanks to Heather, a friend. It was an exciting experience.Not life-changing as I somehow thought it might be-but an interesting one -in that I felt I was part of a bigger Ireland picture ! So to those of you shy ones-go ahead and do this type of thing if you get the chance !
Open House is a wonderful event where over one weekend the architecture society of Dublin,in collaboration with the city council opens up official and private places to the public.

Temple Bar area-part of the guided walk (it is an art installation of sticks on  the roof of the blue bldg -like it ?!)

 A hundred or so volunteers basically had to play sheep dogs to herd together the crowds into queues,etc.!  I didn’t have to worry too much. My (and my co-volunteer’s)group for a guided walk of the Temple Bar area consisted of 15 civilized people from all walks of life. In return I got a badge, a white waterproof  and an educational tour.The waterproof ,sadly,had to be returned !

Temple Bar–in case you miss the point and the white Open House waterproof  jacket that had to be returned.

After the tour Debashish joined me . Since it was lunch time we walked into a small cafe in that area- with Debashish it has to be one of the first two in sight ! Which was just as well- I discovered something interesting.
The cafe was called ‘Joy of Cha’.

Hope you’ve got it !

 It was very small , very cozy and interestingly decorated with tea bags, paintings and coffee quotes-and was something that cafes need to be-busy!  It had a huge array of different teas,coffee and well made sandwiches and cakes on offer. Debashish’s club sandwich was delicious and my steak pie was nice though a little soggy.

The cozy interior of the cafe- burlap from packaging covers the counter

I met its owner . His name is Sergei Latsko-yes,a Russian. While travelling ,Sergei arrived in Dublin 12 years ago. He loved the place and finding no tea shop decided to open this one 8 years ago. He told me they love tea in Russia.  And I found my Indian connection– in Soviet times tea from India was a much sought after commodity-so they love their Indian Darjeeling and Assam ! And he offers these as well, of course !


Coffee wall hangings -nicely grouped

So here is the special thing- it took a Russian to come to a tea drinking country like Ireland and open a tea shop !  Just like it took an American to open Fabinidia- selling traditional printed textile clothes in India !
It happens!

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Volunteering at an event and Joy of Cha

  1. Anonymous says:

    I have been in Dublin for some time but have not been to this cafe. Will visit a co-russian– Olga

  2. Anonymous says:

    Adity, let´s hit the town…loved your reporting! tx xxx manel

  3. Happy you will visit,Olga.

    Yesss,Manel-on my return! Delighted you liked it.

  4. ara Gallagher says:

    Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the Joy of Cha and look forward to seeing you again! I'm Dara Gallagher,Sergey's business partner.
    Nice pictures too. Could we use them,please?

  5. Hi Dara ! I will certainly visit again . Glad you like the pictures-do go ahead and use them.

Do please leave a comment here

