Bringing Dublin Autumn into My Home

I find the yellows ,browns and oranges of leaves in autumn irresistible !  I collect these leaves every year and feel compelled to do something with them.

 Yesterday outside ‘ Woodies’DIY in Dublin I found a row of trees with leaves that had turned a beautiful yellow. I collected some, brought them home and put them straight onto our table. Josephine,our wonderful housekeeper and I played around with planks of wood, pine cones, pods of garlic and ,of course,the yellow and green leaves. 
Trees from our garden in Dublin had, sadly, to be  taken down because they had become too old. One had fallen-taking down the neighbourhood’s electrical wiring. So the rest had to come down as well. I had the loggers slice me many pieces of the tree trunk. I just knew I had to have memories of the trees and they just looked so beautiful. I am happy I had them. Here they are-
IMGP6665
We filled bowls and glasses with slit yellow peas and glasses with green moong lentils. Then stuck in the leaves and the candles in the middle. I was surprised at how easily they sat in there !
IMGP6666
Pine cones collected from the Wicklow mountains ( read my article on the Wicklow mountains by clicking here ) just worked so well with the idea of fallen leaves-also collected –
IMGP6668
And to pick up the white from the candles–and in keeping with most things looking dried up–the white garlic pods-
IMGP6669
All things looked and felt very natural and organic–
IMGP6667
Here is the special thing- you don’t have to spend a lot to make your home a little more beautiful. You just have to look around you and find things to use that are beautiful !

To see other tablescapes where I have used the same planks of wood-read by clicking  here and here.

Hope you have a wonderful day and thank you for reading !

 

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Tablescape and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bringing Dublin Autumn into My Home

  1. Uttora Ratna says:

    I cannot seem to add much as I am overwhelmed with what I have seen.Perhaps some dry twigs may add to the autumn effect?

Do please leave a comment here

