More Autumn leaves on my tables

A few days ago I was at the lovely Fowzia’s home for lunch. She is a warm and elegant person.

After lunch, as I left, I noticed, again, the gloriously red Virginia Creeper on the front wall of her house. Again, I simply had to have some for my home!  Fowzia graciously let me cut off some of its stalks.
So this is to you,Fowzia !
I arranged my mother-in-law’s kansha ( bell metal) utensils next to a wood carved Ganesh . And instead of flowers I offered him four stalks of the creeper. I am sure he was happy !
I had a dinner party at home that evening and ,starting with Ganesh, I repeated the tone that I loved- the Autumn tone- not in Bucharest (which I have written about in a previous post–you can see it by clicking here) but in Dublin !
IMGP6620

It is green leaves that turn yellow and red in fall, don’t they ? So they simply had to have a place. Besides,a different colour was needed to break similar tones of orange and yellow-cream.  Always borrow from nature-my motto !

IMGP6624

 

 

Ebony wood carvings from our posting in Tanzania,  free pine cones from the Wicklow hills and tea lights -4 Euros for 100 of them at Ikea !  In India , I suppose I would use diyas.
IMGP6636
IMGP6628
IMGP6628 - Copy
IMGP6630
Incidentally, and those of you who have moved from place to place will probably share this feeling, I am filled with nostalgia every time I look at our things from Tanzania, as I am when I look at our things from Romania. Or Canada. Or China. Really, does one always leave a part of ones heart in each place that one has lived ?
About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Tablescape and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Autumn leaves on my tables

  1. Shikha Chaki says:

    Fabulous !!!

  2. Amita Sathe says:

    I love autumn colours and this tablescape!

Do please leave a comment here

