Vignettes of beauty in airports

Dear friends,I am returning to write this journal after a good two and a half months! So hello again.
 Much has happened in between. I will fill you up with little bits. For now, I have to start by my most loved interest-
I think I am going through a phase of mid-life obsessive interest ! Interest in decor- especially table decor.
I go past shops and restaurants , even homes and stop to gawk at any eye catching decorations I see . I cannot stop admiring the way people do such things with seeming simplicity and incredible creativity.

I transited through Frankfurt Airport on my way to India from Dublin.
In an airport cafe in Dublin I found this beautiful collection of green plants in tin buckets and cans- all in a row to utilize the long space on the room divider.The humble tin buckets end up looking very posh.


Green plants in tin buckets

A lounge in Frankfurt airport  had glass bowls and buckets,again in a row,filled with ornamental pumpkins and pine cones . When spaces are large,repetition in a decoration(or a very large arrangement) is effective. A single , small piece would have been completely lost.



Pumpkins in bowls

 Oranges or apples would work just as well, I think.   How beautiful the brilliant orange of the pumpkin looks placed against a neutral palette !



Pumpkins,pine cones and red berries on branches

And then, the most interesting of them all, was this cooking pan packed with beautiful,fresh vegetables- an area of intense colour placed next to the whites and neutrals of crockery and cutlery.  And even the humble onion – ideas are ideas !



Salad leaves,red pepper,cauliflower and onions

Here is something very special :  you don’t have to always write poetry. It can exist in an arrangement of vegetables !

 

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Public House Tour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vignettes of beauty in airports

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love the veggies ! Would love it on my table ..

  2. Anonymous says:

    These are beautiful. I sometimes put red peppers in glass bowls on my table.

  3. Shikha Chaki says:

    Adity ,you really have an eye for beauty and creativity.It was wonderful to see Frankfurt Airport through your eyes.

Do please leave a comment here

