With Luck, Landing up in a Beautiful Home !

Landing up in a house with ornate sofas and broken or, worse, flashy furniture is a nightmare !

 You move every three years and often have to stay in homes owned or leased for long periods by our embassies and uh,oh ! every piece of furniture has a ‘life’span. Sofas have15 years, beds 8,etc,etc… It means you can’t change them at will. Instead, you pray ! Or fall at the feet of the Head of Chancery and beg for an upholstery change !

I decided long ago-as have many of you- that I would lug around some pieces of my own furniture, paintings, pieces of  fabric,etc, in short, things that would make an impersonal home a personal one.

The pictures below are a flashback to 2010. Those of our residence in Romania. It was beautiful ! A Victorian style house built in the 1920s.
.
Wonder if you like it ??

And relief,relief-the sofas had exhausted their life so I could change them.I hid  the heavy oil paintings in heavier frames upstairs and used the gorgeous Indian craft pieces (our embassies own large numbers of these and have them in their properties), my own pieces of furniture, paintings and fabric and voila ! I had a home I adored .
Thank you Govt.of India  !

The lobby with an extra table set up for a dinner party

 The wood paneled lobby looked warm and cozy with a beautiful Kashmir carpet(the govt’s)and a fireplace

Evening sunlight and the fireplace
It was big and very beautiful with stucco work-and ,above all, I could have roaring fires in winter.  There -you have a view with the evening sunlight and a glimpse of the large ‘Pichwai’ painting in the dining room.

The other part of the drawing room
‘Ideal Decor’ magazine,Romania featured the house in an issue in 2010. I was thrilled !
I have to show it to you in my next post !
Photos by in-house photographer,Debashish Chakravarti
About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Homes-old and new and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to With Luck, Landing up in a Beautiful Home !

  1. I remember this. Indeed it was a beautiful residence. You gave it just the right touch.

  2. Domna Paschalidou says:

    I miss our gatherings in this beautiful and warm residence, where style and hospitality always welcomed you in any occasion, formal or informal… So lucky to have met you my dear…miss you!

  3. Thank you,girlwithatwirl ! And look what I discover- you blog ! and are an old hand ! I need your advice..

  4. Valerie,Domna, the fact that you came to it gave us the chance to share it- personally, I don't think anything is of much use to me if I cannot share it.So thank YOU !

  5. Anonymous says:

    Reminds me so much of the times we spend together in Bucharest, lovely book club meetings, lunches and parties, but always done in your special style with warmth and grace, miss you!

  6. Thank you for these beautiful words !

Do please leave a comment here

