Our home in Ideal Decor magazine

How would I like it if a magazine said they wanted to feature our home in an issue ?

‘Ideal Decor’ asked me in Bucharest in 2010. I was thrilled !  But I confess I pretended that this sort of thing was normal . Sang-froid and all that, you know !

Titled,’Lesson in Design’

Their editor, a gorgeous looking lady (as many Romanian women are- gorgeous looking and high powered), Luminita Ditulescu, arrived with her team of photographers with their white umbrellas and lights on a beautiful morning to work.  It felt like film sets . For them it was perhaps just another day. But for me- the excitement was all mine !

 Above is an interesting picture on the top left- the dining table and Pichwai reflected on the mirror on a replica of a typical Rajasthani jharokha (window).

Top left picture is that of a group of little wood carvings (I love wood) around an old dressing table.

Top right ,on the dining table,my own lesson (!),why use white damask(a disaster with red wine and curry spills) when you have glorious ‘Fabindia‘(http://www.fabindia.com/) mats and exquisite Indian block printed fabric – just take them and drape them around your table.
And for the table- our govt.now provides high quality Indian crockery from the Tata Group.

Top middle picture is a view of the small entrance lobby. It also shows two beautiful lamps that I suspended in the corner(wish I had ‘before’ pictures!).They are replicas of Lutyen’s sandstone lamps around the Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s House, New Delhi).

 Please do tell me if  YOU think it works..

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Homes-old and new and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our home in Ideal Decor magazine

  1. Anonymous says:

    It is indeed beautiful !

  2. rajani says:

    Lovely house and creatively decorated Adity di

  3. Thank you,Rajani. The house itself was beautiful as well.

  4. Shikha Chaki says:

    WOW ! Thanks to you ,I can say that I stayed in a house which was featured in Lectie de Design.You always keep a beautiful house anyway.

Do please leave a comment here

