Wicklow Mountains,Ireland– the interior of the exterior

The Wicklow mountains are Dublin’s backyard.
Just about 15 minutes from South Dublin, the landscape starts to change as you enter the Wicklow area and the gigantic Nature reserve- some 20,000 hectares of it. The first time we drove up to it–I was amazed at the vastness and serenity of it all-

The winding ‘Military Road’ takes you through some of the most stunning landscapes I have ever seen– and introduces you to a geographical vocabulary that you may have only heard or read about.  Your car crawls through vast swathes of moorland covered with gorse, heather and bracken ( I remember these from Enid Blyton stories and was terribly excited when they were pointed out to me !), boglands from where the famous ‘peat’ comes from, and low mountains dotted with small lakes that appear a dark, glistening grey-almost black- under the Irish sky that can change within minutes with great drama from an ominous dark grey to a flecked blue,grey and white.

The swathes of grass and heather bushes move between the colors of gold, brown and green-varying from a muted olive to brilliant emerald- the ratio changing according to the season. In the months of August and September blossoms of the heather paint the landscape in purple.

You pass through valleys with beautiful names-Glenmacnass,Glenmalure, Glendalough , and  little hills called Luggala, Lugnaquilla and Camaderry.

There are areas like the Glenmacnass valley that are desolate and you have a feeling of almost complete, dramatic isolation. Wild boglands seem to stretch for miles and the winding, narrow road is visible from places with perhaps a lone car crawling its way up in the distance. I suppose the area is so vast and the population density so low that only a very few cars seem to traverse this route.

I go to this area often and just sit there, experiencing the feeling that I am, perhaps, the only person in this world.

There is no sound-
It is only wind I can hear.
It washes grass,miles of grass,
Sweeps over their blades,
Moving swathes,
Waxing ,waning- undulating
IMGP6438
SG202273_alt
 Sparkling water softly gurgles-
Amber, ebony, silver
Meandering, stumbling, but still flowing
Through wilderness
Waxing,waning- undulating.
Broken wood lies forgotten
Abandoned on the wayside
Its stories sighing-
Speaking to nothingness
Waxing, waning- undulating.

 Photos by my husband, Debashish.

See this post (as well as some other similar ones) at another very nice blog- The Tablescaper.

 

 

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wicklow Mountains,Ireland– the interior of the exterior

  1. Anonymous says:

    Gorgeous photos and great blog post!
    Piyali

  2. Thank you so much,Piyali.

  3. I have yet to go there at sunset under clear skies-it will probably be gorgeous!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh my! That would be fantastic! You must post those if you ever go. These photos could also have been of Newfoundland….the same hues.
    P

  5. Hi Adity,

    Wow, this landscape truly is dramatic!! Your husband takes amazing photos!!! My husband and I enjoy photography, too; though lately we haven’t had a lot of time to indulge in it. 🙂

    I’ve heard of the Wicklow Mountains, but I don’t remember ever having seen them. I traveled to Ireland in 1999 when my husband was there on a business trip. We were in Newcastle and Kilkeel, Northern Ireland; and we spent a day in Dublin. It was a quick trip for me, as we had just spent a week in England, and I was due to fly home on Monday. I did enjoy the visit, though, and would love to return someday. Are you currently living in Ireland? It looks like you’ve lived in many interesting places; it’s wonderful that you embrace the chance to experience different countries and cultures.

    Thank you for your visit and kind comments. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Denise

    • Hi Denise,
      Thanks for stopping by ! The Wicklow area in Ireland is gorgeous and compact- in that you get to see amazingly varied landscape-all in one place.
      We do live in Dublin now- but will move back to India in August. We have lived in different parts of the world- each part offering its own sensibility- wish I had a blog from long before–just so I could record the beauty everywhere.
      Great to meet you–do stay in touch !

Do please leave a comment here

