A SpringTable with Cherry Blossom

This time of year cherry blossom trees are flowering all over Dublin. What always amazes me is the profusion with which they bloom. I have always wanted to put them on my table. So we cut some branches and put them straight onto our table for a dinner party we had yesterday. Wish I could just hold them and not let them go !

Here they are – a bit of Dublin spring on our table-

For the base I needed something white or cream. The brown of the table might not have looked soft enough. So I used a Gujarati(a state in West India) mirror work bed spread to cover the table.

The bunches of flowers tend to droop downwards so I just let them-

IMG_5682

I needed some pink to echo the colour of the cherry blossom–so I put two chikan(chikan is traditional tracery embroidery-white on white or white on pastels- done in my husband’s hometown , Lucknow,India )embroidered scarves in a scrunched up, flowing manner. Somehow, textiles, I feel, look more like themselves when they are allowed to kind- of flow-

IMG_5660I brought our blue and white Chinese tea pots and jars to the table (these were bought years and years ago in the Bird Market of Beijing)I suppose there must be something about blue and pink– because I immediately thought of these pieces as I placed the blossoms on our table.

I love the napkins. They belong to a set of table mats and napkins from a fabulous shop in Delhi,India- called, simply,’The Shop'(click here to see their wonderful products) . They just worked well with the blue and pink-IMG_5664

Then because I wanted the embellishment to continue to the sides of the table–I had to have my two dwarf spathiphyllum plants there. I tried some copper pots but found silver worked better so I got a bowl and a box to hold the plants– and for continuity I added two more silver boxes(these are beautifully crafted in Jaipur,India and are Indian government property).See my two adored plants in another tablescape by clicking here.

IMG_5661

Crockery is Tata-they make very good crockery now(see here), glassware is Tudor crystal(see here)and the cutlery is ‘Kishco’-not happy with their embossing (of the Indian govt. crest)job-it is just a scratched on mark- and their design is only passable.

When you put things in a different setting–well,they look different. The silver pieces have been on coffee tables in the reception room for the past year and a half -but noticing them this time-my husband asked where I had got them from- he cannot  remember even seeing them !

IMG_5674

IMG_5682

IMG_5683

IMG_5675

IMG_5673

IMG_5679

Hope you liked this  !  Thanks so much for visiting !

I am thrilled !  I have just put this article into another wonderful blog’Between Naps on the Porch’. Do visit it by clicking here.

Also joining ‘Seasonal Sundays’at The Tablescaper. Take a look here.

And ‘Make it Pretty Monday’ at The Dedicated House. Look here.

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Tablescape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A SpringTable with Cherry Blossom

  1. shampa das says:

    This is just too beautiful and aesthetically done!Congrats Tinku…love your blogs,please carry on….

  2. Fayda says:

    Beautiful Adity. As usual a great artist.

  3. Vanita says:

    There is so much to learn from you!

  4. Shikha Chaki says:

    Adity,
    Your table decor is always so beautiful and artistic but this time what I am going to say is that I am so envious that you are surrounded by the lovely cherry blossom trees.It has always been my dream to see cherry blossoms……I wish I had visited you this time of the year.
    I love reading your blog…you are doing a great job.

    • adity61 says:

      These blossoms are glorious . I am always amazed to see how much the trees get loaded ! We have two pink ones in our garden here and two white. Thinking of you.

  5. Uttora Ratna says:

    guess you will never know how much the cancellation of this planned trip to you means to me. All things bright and beautiful……Your blogs bring Dublin , the people, the stories from far and near so close to me..its almost as if I were there. Thank you,pet. Keep it up!!

    • adity61 says:

      I feel just as disappointed. But look forward to being with you soon! And seeing many places with you !

  6. Poonam Malhotra says:

    Dear Aditya ,your work is as beautiful as you are.The wonderful soft and classy table represents you
    Lots of love Poonam

  7. Your tablescape is so romantic and I love the colors you used. I had to laugh when you talked about your hubby not seeing things and wondering where you got them. I go through that too….Hubby asks “where did you get that?” and I say….uhhh the bedroom. LOL

    Have a great weekend!
    XO,
    Christine

  8. Diane says:

    Your table is so lovely! No one makes more beautiful fabrics, than the people of India! Cherry trees are near and dear to my heart, since I live in a city in Georgia (USA) that celebrates each March with a Cherry blossom festival. Love finding your blog – what a fantastic and interesting life you have led so far!!

Do please leave a comment here

