Decanters and Turbans-a Maharaja’s table

Hello ! Thanks for coming by !

I think I have mentioned before that I am not much of a crystal lover. The only way I like crystal is – and I share this with my husband-  when it is in the form of a decanter. My husband, of course, likes it even more when it is filled with dark coloured liquids which he can drink !

Sometime back we made a trip to Waterford in Ireland and to the crystal factory that town is famous for and bears the same name.

IMG_6616

I had a vague idea about the fact that crystal was cut but now I saw how lead and silica are heated to a molten mass, blown into shapes, cooled and then manually cut into finer, perfect shapes, the surface often carved with geometrical patterns.  You can say that each piece is actually a sculpture.

Since then, I view our decanters with deep respect and have started handling them with a little more care !

I felt I owed it to them to bring them into focus. So about a month and a half ago, I put them onto my dining table. When you have an object in one place for a long time you tend not to notice it. But the minute you change it’s position, belive me, you start noticing it- especially if you can place it on your table, sit around it and have a meal. It is like viewing a work of art from close, relate-able quarters. That is how I view tablescapes.

The cool, transparent quality of glass and crystal had to have something with softness, opacity and colour. For some reason saafas or traditional Indian turbans came to my mind. They, like crystal, had also an air of luxury. They are easy to make if you have saris or any long piece of fabric. Just twist the fabric into a rope and drape it round and round and tuck the end in .

Here is the classic Bohemian crystal decanter with a brilliant, multicoloured saafa from Rajasthan in India- IMG_6765

The stopper of the decanter placed on a leaf so it takes on the green of the leaf-

IMG_6762

A tiny, tear-drop shaped, green glass vase from a charity shop- cost me 1 Euro-

IMG_6763

Our two pieces of Murano glass decanters in blue and green and  multi- coloured glass

IMG_6741

Then my favorite piece among our decanters- an eight faceted, plain piece, also from Bohemia.

IMG_6761

I filled it, and the others. with dogwood stems and elderflower blossoms from an overgrown patch outside our compound. I requested Aigars, the embassy chauffeur to actually climb on a ladder to cut some of these blossoms and Aigars kindly obliged-

IMG_6775

The saafa with a twig of dogwood-

IMG_6753

IMG_6683

White placemats from a fabulous shop in Jaipur, ‘Soma’. These are block printed with white on a broken white background.  Soma’s prints are beautiful. Take a look at their products by clicking here.  You can recognize the blue ‘Fabindia’ napkins, can’t you ? They are rolled into narrow cones-

IMG_6749

The blue saafa I made from a sari. It was in crepe de chine and had no bulk so I wrapped it around another sari.

IMG_6731

A fuller view of the table-

IMG_6772

Light passing through the glass decanters and reflecting off the surface of the table looks gorgeous. On the side, to echo the blue is a glass leaf shaped bowl from Lobmeyer, Austria. A confession-I had bought them to give away as gifts but couldn’t bear to part with them !

IMG_6767

See the little glass ‘fruit’ with a leaf ? They are also from Lobmeyer. We bought six pieces, lost two, now have only four remaining. I have always found them to be steady companions and discovered I can use them in many different settings..

IMG_6720

IMG_6745

Something I did when I first set this table was to use my red place mats. I decided they looked too bright with the decanters so I changed them and put white mats instead.  But since they did not look too bad – I have put up some pictures for you to see how the red mats look-

IMG_6685

IMG_6712

IMG_6672

Which one do you think works better ? The white mats or the red ?

Do keep coming by . Please stay in touch by leaving a comment to tell me anything that comes to your mind. It is never insignificant and means a lot to me !

Please do ‘follow’ my blog through the ‘follow by email’ sign on the upper right of the page — and please ‘like’my  blog on facebook–also through the sign on the upper right of this page.Doing this is free,  completely private and safe.

Sharing this post at ‘Between Naps on the Porch‘ and

‘The Style Sisters’

Hope you have a wonderful weekend !

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Homes-old and new and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Decanters and Turbans-a Maharaja’s table

  1. Usha Attri says:

    Another lovely table setting , Maharani ji !!!!

  2. Yasmin Khoja says:

    How talented you are, Adity! Love the way you bring these inanimate objects to life…just be putting them together creatively, and by your beautiful description! Really enjoyed the photographs! Oh yes, my personal favourites were the white place-mats 🙂

  3. Samukta Das says:

    Wow! This setting looks beautiful… U do wonders with your fantastic aesthetic sense.

  4. Simi Gupta says:

    Yet another beautiful table setting! I would go for the red but then I an not an authority on the subject. You would know best!

  5. Amita Sathe says:

    I love the Lobemeyer grape bunches…..I have one in amber…..love the idea of saafas…..i would add a brooch on each saafa as an improvised sarpech!

  6. sujatha says:

    Hello Adity Nice to see your Post in Nap on the Porch.you have created a beautiful table.love the plates with The Indian emblem..The decanters and cut glasses looks lovely along with those pretty flowers.I am a blogger from India My name is sujatha and my blog name is crystal grandeur.Love to keep in touch hope you too visit me…Best wishes…Love sujatha..:):)

  7. chandana ghosh says:

    super duper like

Do please leave a comment here

