At Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi

I am happy it is the monsoon season in India and more specifically,in Delhi,where I am now.The skies become very dark with clouds and when  it rains-it really pours ! So different from the almost constant, light drizzle that I was becoming used to when in Dublin.

The evening of our return to Delhi–I went for a walk down Rajpath, the central boulevard that leads from the iconic India Gate to the Rashtrapati Bhavan or President’s house . I stopped to buy roasted bhutta-corn-on-cob, typically grilled over charcoal  in the monsoons, churmura–puffed rice with peanuts,chickpeas, onions and lemon, and a rose flavoured milk bar from the Mother Dairy ice cream vendor. It felt good to be back !

Oh-and I got charged in excess of the MRP for the ice cream. I pointed this out and after minor resistance the vendor accepted the right amount .  Reality check!

Then- another place I love going to in Delhi-and which I visited again this time- is actually a tomb- the tomb of Mughal emperor Humayun.

Here is the perfectly symmetrical gateway to the tomb-

SG201315_alt

The beautiful monument that houses Humayun’s grave-

SG201318_alt

The Mughal kings built beautiful monuments all over India- among them exquisite tombs built by them for their wives or by the wives for their husbands.  These tombs would then be surrounded by symmetrically laid-out gardens called ‘char-bagh’or ‘four-gardens’ with water channels running through them. The best known tomb is , of course, the Taj Mahal but the very first of its kind was Humayun’s Tomb–built in 1569 for the Mughal emperor Humayun by his first wife, Bega Begum. Yes,she was muslim, a woman- and had enough power and influence to commission the making of this tomb.

It is supposed to have cost 1.5 million rupees at that time ! Someone tell me how much that is now–six or seven billion ?

Built entirely of red sandstone and white marble-the monument is perfect in its symmetry and is topped  by a central dome and four smaller canopies.Behind the monument and feeding the channels in the garden- lies the river Yamuna.

SG201325_alt

The exquisite lattice work screen (there are many of these)carved out of sandstone and the pietra dura floors-

SG201333_alt

SG201341_alt

The grave in marble on the main upper floor- but the actual grave, not accesible to the public, lies on ground level, directly under this one-

SG201337_alt

A view of the gateway from the monument with a stairwell leading to ground level-

SG201340_alt

A view of the monument through a typical Mughal arch– you can also see part of the water channel- and a dog drinking from it-

SG201317_alt

This is a place I associate with my image of Delhi. A place that calms me and makes me marvel at beauty created by human hands.

For tomorrow, I wish all my friends a Very Happy and Joyous Eid !  May God Bless !

About Adity

Hello ! You are either already a friend or will become one--through this medium! I am an artist and jewellery maker, a wife and mother to two lovely children. Beautiful homes, food, nature and wonderful things happening around me make me ecstatic. That is why I started to write this blog-- to share with you all of these things. After all what good is any experience if not shared !
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to At Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi

  1. shikha chaki says:

    WELCOME BACK,ADITY.LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOMETIME SOON. AS USUAL DEBASHISH’S PHOTOGRAPHS ARE SUPERB AND SO IS YOUR WRITE UP. LOVE

  2. chetna says:

    the literary and photographic excellence of your post notwithstanding, I salute your enthusiastic spirit for undertaking these tours almost immediately upon your arrival in Delhi.
    I wonder if you remember our visit there over 10 years ago with EASA members on a Heritage walk. That was my first time at the tomb and I have some lovely pictures of us of the visit (unfortunately, they are not available digitally for now).
    Have a great time in Delhi. love and hugs.

    • When we moved back to Delhi with 4 suitcases,no kids-and before the settling in process started-I,for one, had lots of time.Made the most of it. In fact,was thinking of taking the ‘Ho ho’bus tour-will be interesting to be a tourist in one’s own place! Yes-I also remember the walk to old Delhi which ended with parathas in the Parathe-wali-gali !These tours were so good-do they not happen any more ?

  3. Amita Sathe says:

    Adity, do go and take a look at Safdarjung’s tomb as well…..it is supposed to be the ‘last flicker’ of Mughal architecture in India, it is not as grand as Humayun’s tomb but still worth a visit

    • I have been to Safdarjung’s tomb a couple of times in the past. You are right-it is not as grand as Humayun’s tomb. An interesting fact, Debu tells me, is that the marble used in this tomb was taken from the tomb of the poet Abdul Rahim, near Nizammudddin. The Mughal empire was crumbling and there was not enough money for extravagance like marble.

Do please leave a comment here

